Candidates Running for Office in 2019

In 2019, Fairfax County will have over fifty offices on the ballot.  These include:
9 State Senators
17 House of Delegates Members
9 Board of Supervisors Members
1 Chairman, Board of Supervisors
1 Commonwealth’s Attorney
1 Sheriff
9 District School Board Members
3 At-Large School Board Members
3 Soil & Water Conservation District Directors

The Fairfax County Democratic Committee is committed to serving as a resource for voters and candidates.  On this web post, we will keep a running list of candidates.  Click here to learn about the process for running for office.

We are expecting a lot of changes at the local level next year, as a number of longtime officials are not seeking re-election or are seeking higher office.

The Fairfax Democrats do not endorse candidates in primaries — we will fully back our candidates once they receive the nomination.  We do provide equal assistance to any Democrat running for office.  For School Board and Soil & Water Conservation District Director, the membership of the Fairfax Democrats will vote to endorse candidates in May 2019.

2019 Candidates

for updates on the method of nomination for each seat, click here

District Candidate Website Contact
Senate of Virginia
Senate District 30 Adam Ebbin adamebbin.com Henry Watkins
henry@adamebbin.com
(703) 646-0591
Senate District 31 Barbara Favola barbarafavola.org
Senate District 31 Nicole Merlene nicolemerlene.com Matt Royer
matt@nicolemerlene.com
(703) 609-9963
Senate District 32 Janet Howell click for facebook page
Senate District 33 Jennifer Boysko jenniferboysko.com Chad Wiggins
chad@boyskoforsenate.com
Senate District 34 Chap Petersen fairfaxsenator.com info@fairfaxsenator.com
Senate District 35 Dick Saslaw dicksaslaw.com Andrew Whitley
Senate District 35 Yasmine Taeb yasmineforvirginia.com info@yasmineforvirginia.com
Senate District 36 Scott Surovell scottsurovell.org Philip Scranage
scottsurovell@gmail.com
Senate District 37 Dave Marsden marsdenforsenate.com Matt Rogers
david.marsden37@gmail.com
Senate District 39 George Barker senatorbarker.com
House of Delegates
House District 34 Kathleen Murphy murphyfordelegate.com Claire McCormack                                  info@murphyfordelegate.com
House District 35 Mark Keam markkeam.com Meredith Nakayama
info@MarkKeam.com
(703) 350-3911
House District 36 Ken Plum kenplum.com
House District 37 David Bulova davidbulova.com info@davidbulova.com
House District 38 Kaye Kory kayekory.com info@kayekory.com
House District 38 Andres Jimenez Aron Mujumdar
aron@virginia38.com
House District 39 Vivian Watts vivianwatts.com vwatts@erols.com
House District 40 Dan Helmer danhelmer.com Erik Darcey
erik@danhelmer.com
(301) 910-7097
5618-A Ox Road
Fairfax Station, VA 22039
House District 41 Eileen Filler-Corn eileenfillercorn.com Leigh Nusbaum
leigh@eileenfillercorn.com
(571) 249-3453
House District 42 Kathy Tran kathyfordelegate.com Kathy@KathyforDelegate.com
House District 43 Mark Sickles marksickles.com Jonathan Freeman                                  Mark@marksickles.com
House District 44 Paul Krizek paulkrizek.com paul@paulkrizek.com
House District 45 Mark Levine marklevine.com Mark@MarkforDelegate.com
(703) 599-6121
House District 48 Rip Sullivan ripsullivan.com Kate Petersen
ripsullivan48@gmail.com
(610) 209-4718
House District 49 Alfonso Lopez alfonsolopez.org Kevin Saucedo
DelegateLopez@gmail.com
(571) 243-8717
House District 49 Julius “JD” Spain jdspainfordelegate49.democrat Kim Phillip
Kim@jdspainfordelegate49.democrat
(703) 447-7836
House District 53 Marcus Simon marcussimon.com
House District 67 Karrie Delaney karriedelaney.com Denver Supinger
delaneyfordelegate@gmail.com
(703) 996-9415
House District 86
(Open seat – Special Election Feb. 19)
Ibraheem Samirah samirah4delegate.com Francesca Lucia
ibraheem@samirah4delegate.com
Constitutional Offices
Commonwealth’s Attorney Ray Morrogh raymorrogh.com Kyle Shivers
raymorroghfairfax@gmail.com
(703) 249-9816
Commonwealth’s Attorney Steve Descano stevedescano.com Jack Kiraly                                               jack@stevedescano.com
(313) 303-8857
Sheriff Stacey Kincaid
Chairman, Board of Supervisors
(incumbent Sharon Bulova not running for re-election)
Chairman, Board of Supervisors Jeff McKay www.mckayforchairman.com
Chairman, Board of Supervisors Ryan McElveen mcelveenforchairman.com Thomas ryan@mcelveenforchairman.com
Chairman, Board of Supervisors Tim Chapman Cristy Villalobos
cristy@timchapmanforfairfax.com
Member, Board of Supervisors
Braddock James Walkinshaw jameswalkinshaw.org Danni Gonyo
dannigonyo@gmail.com
(804) 300-0238
Braddock Irma Corado irmacorado.org irmaforsupervisor@gmail.com
Hunter Mill Shyamali Hauth shyamalihauth.com
Hunter Mill Parker Messick parkermessick.com
Hunter Mill Laurie Dodd doddforhuntermill.org doddforhuntermill@gmail.com
Hunter Mill Walter Alcorn
Dranesville John Foust click for facebook page
Lee James Migliaccio jamesmigliaccio.org
Lee Larysa Kautz larysakautz.com
Lee Rodney Lusk luskforsupervisor.com
Lee Kelly Hebron kellyhebron.com
Mason Penny Gross pennygross.com
Mount Vernon Dan Storck danstorck.org Dave Evans
info@danstorck.org
(703) 360-6044
Providence Erika Yalowitz erikaforsupervisor.org candidate@erikaforsupervisor.org
(703) 663-0555
Providence Dalia Palchik daliaforsupervisor.com
Providence Edythe Kelleher edytheforsupervisor.com
Providence Phil Niedzielski-Eichner philforsupervisor.com
Springfield Linda Sperling sperlingforsupervisor.com linda@sperlingforsupervisor.com
Sully Kathy Smith kathysmith.org
School Board At-Large (competing for 3 seats)
At-Large Ilryong Moon moon4schools.com
At-Large Karen Keys-Gamarra click for facebook page
At-Large Abrar Omeish abraromeish.com abrar@abraromeish.com
(703) 587-7104
At-Large Rachna Sizemore Heizer electrachna.com
District School Board Member
Braddock Megan McLaughlin click for facebook page
Hunter Mill Melanie Meren melaniemeren.com electmelanie@melaniemeren.com
Dranesville Alicia Plerhoples aliciaforschoolboard.com aplerhoples@gmail.com
Lee Tammy Kaufax kaufaxforschools.com
Mason Jessica Swanson swansonforfairfax.com jessica@swansonforfairfax.com
Mason Ricardy Anderson
Mt. Vernon Karen Corbett Sanders karen4schools.com karen@karen4schools.com
Providence Jung Byun jungforschools.com
Providence Karl Frisch karlfrisch.com campaign@karlfrisch.com
(703) 454-9369
Springfield Robert Walter walter4fcps.com
Springfield Laura Jane Cohen laurajanecohen.com lj4fcps@gmail.com
(703) 655-6641
Sully Stella Pekarsky elect4sully.com stella@elect4sully.com
Soil & Water Conservation Board Director (competing for 3 seats)
Soil & Water Gerald Peters
(703) 757-0314
(301) 512-4762 (mobile)
Soil & Water Elaine Tholen elaine@elainetholen.com
(703) 216-2114
Soil & Water Mary Paulet mary4fairfax.com (571) 645-0137
Soil & Water Jessica Bowser
Soil & Water Chris Koerner