Mount Vernon District is the most southern and the most eastern district in Fairfax County, and is bordered by the Potomac River to its east. It extends west past I-95. From the Beltway (I-495), which forms the district’s northern border, it extends down U.S. Route 1 (Richmond Highway) past Gunston to the Occoquan River in the south, and portions of Southern Fairfax County.   Mount Vernon District includes the Huntington Metro station, Belle Haven, Fort Hunt, George Washington’s Mount Vernon Estate, Fort Belvoir, Pohick Bay, Gunston Cove, Mason Neck, Lorton, Laurel Hill, and much of southeastern Springfield.

Mt Vernon District has 26 precincts with over 72,000 registered voters, who are represented by 29 elected officials.  These public offices include two U.S. Congressional representatives (representing VA districts 8 and 11), three Virginia state senators (representing districts 30, 36, and 39), and five Virginia delegates (representing districts 39, 42, 43, 44, and 45).  The Mt. Vernon District Democratic Committee is known for their annual Mardi Gras party, held each Spring and their Ice Cream Social held annually the First Sunday after Labor Day to launch the official election season.  These events provide our Democratic grassroots to interact with their elected officials that represent the districts in our community.

Mt. Vernon Democratic Committee website

Contact Us – Find contacts for your local Democratic committee chair and other members of FCDC

Detailed Mount Vernon District Map (PDF)

Find Your Poll, Districts, and Registration Status

Go back to Fairfax County Districts